Skip to main content

Data Security on Scrin.io

Scrin.io affirms its commitment to ethical employee monitoring.

Written by Bruno Oliveira

Keeping our client’s information private and secure is our top priority. Screenshots are uploaded using an encrypted SSL connection. Only the company manager and the employee themselves can see the screenshots. The app will only start collecting data when the user clicks the start button.

All credit card information is encrypted.

What information is being collected

Scrin.io collects the starting and stopping times of the tracker, screenshots, IP address, activity level, active applications & URLs, project name, task name and notes.

Using Scrin.io in stealth/spy mode

By design, there is no way of running Scrin.io in stealth/spy mode. We ensure users are aware of when they are being tracked and when a screenshot is being taken.

Monitoring through the webcam

Scrin.io does not access the user’s webcam under any circumstances. The app does not have access to cameras or microphones.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Scrin.io intrusive for employees?

Only managers and employees know what they’re working on. Employees can pause tracking for personal matters and use Scrin.io to delete or blur screenshots with sensitive information. This control helps employees feel more comfortable. Note: deleting a screenshot also removes the associated work hours.

For how long the data and the screenshots are stored?

We keep tracking data indefinitely while your account is active. Screenshots are stored for 1 year on the Professional plan, 6 months on the Standard, and 2 weeks on the Free plan. You can download data in Excel format from the Reports page, and screenshots individually via the browser's "Save As" option.

Where are screenshots stored?

Screenshots are directly uploaded to Scrin.io. If there's a connection issue or offline use, images are stored locally and uploaded when the connection is back. Our servers are hosted in a top-tier data center with biometric security and 24/7 surveillance, and our app is always updated with the latest security patches.

If I work for 2 companies, will they know about each other?

No, they will not. You can track your time for multiple companies on Scrin.io, assuming they have added you to their teams. But these companies will only see the time and screenshots you have tracked for them.

Did this answer your question?